Join now - be part of our community!

[:(] Green/Gray screen crash problem

tweaty7
Visitor

[:(] Green/Gray screen crash problem

Hello everyone,

I wonder if anyone has experienced the same problem as I have.

I've bought my Vaio nw21 last month, and I've been having a problem when suddenly the screen turns green with vertical stripes, or grey and whole notebook freezes. I need to do a hard reset, and then everything runs ok. The problem appears at no set time, so I've got no clue about what's causing it. :slight_frown:

I'd appreciate any help, as I'm a student working on my diploma thesis and I need the machine desperately.

Thanks

5 REPLIES 5
profile.country.GB.title
rich912
Contributor

Hi tweaty7 and welcome.

Unfortunately this is possibly a graphics card problem.

If possible try plugging in an external monitor - if you experience the same problem then it is almost certainly the graphics chip and you will need to raise a case with support.

Go n-éirí an bóthar leat
tweaty7
Visitor

Thank you Rich,

it's just as I thought. Well...let's see what the guys at sony have to say about that.

profile.country.GB.title
rich912
Contributor

Good luck with that tweaty7.

Please let us know how you get on...

EDIT: Before accepting a machine for repair Support usually ask that you carry out a restore to factory defaults (to eliminate a software problem). Make sure that you backup any data you need prior to this. Even if they don't request a restore, backup data before sending in your machine as they may very well carry out this procedure themselves.

Go n-éirí an bóthar leat
tweaty7
Visitor

They indeed requested a reset to factory defaults, which I did, to no avail. My data's already safely backed up on my external hdd. :slight_smile: I'm sending the machine to tech support after Xmas, since it would only take too long now.