Join now - be part of our community!

Power issues with Sureshot

SOLVED
profile.country.en_GB.title
playinghooky
Visitor

Power issues with Sureshot

Hi

I have a Cybershot DSC-P72, which I have been using infrequently but quite successfully for a few years.

I have used both rechargeable and non-recharge batteries in the past with no problem, but now my camera won't work in camera mode with recharges at all, even when 100% newly recharged, and will only work for a small number of shots with a pair of non-recharges.

It's not the batteries that are the problem, I'm sure, because Duracell ones show how much juice is still left, and they are still nearly fully charged when the camera stops working with them.  It acts as though the batteries are dead, when they plainly are not. 

I've checked the terminals and they are all clean and undamaged.  I've done a reset in case I've turned some functionality on that requires super-amounts of charge, but that's made no difference.

The power will only successfully turn on when the switch is set to Setup or the setting that lets me view the pictures in memory - unless as I say the batteries are non-recharge and brand new.  In which case I can take maybe 3 or 4 shots (without flash) before the camera turns itself off and acts as though it has completely flat batteries.

I'll be really upset if there's no solution to this, because although I've had it a few years it has always been well stored and carefully used and I doubt whether I've taken more than a couple of hundred pictures with it.

Does anyone have any clever suggestions please? 

Many thanks in advance

Cathy

Message was edited by: playinghooky

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Mick2011
New

Hi Cathy

Sorry I didn't respond, but it's entirely your decision what you do with the camera. It may be possible to repair it, but the repair will likely exceed it's current worth. It may have sentimental value, in which case a repair may be justified.